All-Star Game 2016

The Dakota-Rice-Scott and River Valley Leagues square off in this 10th anniversary tilt

The Prior Lake Jays and Prior Lake Mudcats Baseball Clubs, in cooperation with the Prior Lake Amateur Baseball Association (PLABA) are proud to host the 10th Annual DRS vs. RVL All-Star Game scheduled to take place at 7:30 pm on Thursday, July 7, 2016 at the home of the Jays and Mudcats, Veterans Field at Memorial Park in Prior Lake. Admission is $5 for adults, $2 for kids ages 13-18, and free for ages 12 and under. The Vet Café will be open and ready with stadium fare to satisfy even the hungriest of fans.

This battle between leagues brings together the finest players from the River Valley League (RVL) and Dakota-Rice-Scott League (DRS) of the Minnesota Baseball Association (MBA). In the past nine years the RVL was victorious in six of those matchups, The DRS has won twice, and rain claimed the 2008 All-Star Game in Arlington. 2016 will mark the first time that Prior Lake has hosted this event.

Honorary Captains for both leagues were announced on Monday, June 28, 2016.

Representing the DRS as Honorary Captain is Don Bohnsack. Bohnsack played townball as a standout catcher for Jordan and the original Prior Lake Jays in the late 1960’s and early 1970’s. He was on the Board that started the current Prior Lake Jays baseball team in 1987 as well when the Jays formed the Prior Lake Mudcats in 1991. Bohnsack was the first Manager and General Manager of the Mudcats, and has continued to serve in support for the Mudcats well beyond his formal tenure with the team Additionally, he has served multiple roles on PLABA executive board. Sons Brent and Bryan were both members of the Mudcats and his immediate and extended families have been involved in many important support roles for Prior Lake town team baseball.

Representing the RVL as Honorary Captain is Chris Rooney. Rooney, a 1985 PLHS graduate played for the Shakopee Indians of the CCL (now RVL) in 1985 and 1986 before the Jays were formed in 1987. A staple in Jays lineups throughout his tenure as OF, P, DH he helped the Jays to MBA Tournaments in 1987-89, 93-96 and 2001, and was a draftee for Miesville, Burnsville and Jordan State Tourney teams helping Jordan (as a catcher) win the 2004 State Tournament Championship. He concluded his MBA tenure as member of the Jordan Brewers in 2005. Rooney held multiple leadership positions for the Jays & PLABA including Manager, GM, and President.

The ceremonial first pitch will be thrown out by Darwin “Buff” Busselman. Busselman coached the Prior Lake Lakers for 42 seasons compiling a record of 535-335 (.615). “Buff” was a Minnesota High School Baseball Coaches Association Hall of Fame inductee in 2007. He was a member of the Jays board in 1987 and 1991 when the Mudcats were started, and served two stints as Jays Manager and continues to serve as a Director on the PLABA Executive Board. His Prior Lake Lakers number hangs in left field as a testament to his dedication to Prior Lake Laker Baseball and he continues to host his annual baseball camp for youth players extending his influence well beyond the success of his active coaching career.

The Prior Lake Hardball Hotline at (952) 226-3800 will also be providing regular updates leading up to the event.

More information

  • PLABA Press Release (PDF)
  • Information Brief – Game and Parking Info (PDF)
  • 2016 All-Star Game Program (PDF)
  • Photo Gallery