2017 Golf Champions Recognized…THANK YOU Participants and Sponsors.

By Joseph Chapman

2017 PL Townball Classic Golf Tournament Champions

Belated congratulations to the team of Tim Hanson, Chris Rooney, Mike Keating and Kirk Loehr for capturing the 2017 PL Townball Classic Golf Tournament Championship blistering the field with a score of 57 at Creeksbend Golf. 19 squads registered and enjoyed perfect sunny conditions to battle for the title in 2017. 1987 PL Jays alumni Hanson and Loehr also were also members of the 2014 Champions with Sean Callahan and Jason Simmering rounding our the team.

Champions are added via plaques for the event including the teams complete names. The Tourney was re-started by the Prior Lake Jays in 2011 with Tourney Champs added annually to the Hoppe Bats Trophy, crafted by former Jays operations coordinator Al Hoppe. Corey Goblirsch was Golfmeister 2011-2016 with Jim Schroeder taking the reigns in 2017 with Hype Director “Blade” Schoenrock evolving to the “Townball Classic” also supporting PL Mudcats baseball operations.

The event has been a great kickoff to townball seasons over the years and previously existed in the earliest seasons of Jays and Mudcats baseball in the late 1980’s and early ’90’s.


Closest to pin 15- Jill Larson -Dohertys Keg Party

Long putt#2: Mark Schoreder

Closest 2nd shot #16: Hanson-Keating

Closest to pin #7: Dr Tom Sticha

Closest to case of beers #9 : Ray Bowling (Booya!)

Long Drive #5: Tor Anderson

Skins (2) : Keating & Company ($170, donated BACK to Tournament)


Click on link below and please support event sponsors.

Creeksbend Golf

Dohertys Tavern

The Wilds

The Legends Golf Club

New Prague Golf Club

Heritage Links

Crystal Lake Golf

College City Beverage

Village Liquor

The Pointe Grille & Bar

Mr Pigstuff

Thanks participants for your support and check back for the 2018 event next Spring!