Jordan Takes State with 5-1 Victory Over Rochester

By PLB Admin

Labor Day became the sixth time in Minnesota baseball history where the host city went on to become champion.  Jordan clinched the 2004 Class 'B' Amateur Baseball State Tournament Championship with a 5-1 victory over Rochester.


3rd inning – Jordan With a man on and one out Tom Nevers grounded to short. Rochester was able to get the lead runner. Paul Buss, Tony Kangas, and Scott Hollingsworth all walked scoring Nevers.

6th inning – Rochester Joe Duda led off the inning with a single and advanced to second on a sacrifice. Duda scored on a single by Travis Krahn.

8th inning – Jordan With one out, Hollingsworth was hit by a pitch and Aaron Langsweirdt reached on a fielders choice. Hollingsworth was driven in on a single by Dean Turnlund. Langsweirdt came in to score on an error.

9th inning – Jordan Trent Simek led off the inning with a walk. He scored on a double by Nevers. Paul Buss was hit by a pitch, and eventually scored on an error.


On September 4, the Prior Lake Jays own Chris Rooney, who suited up for the Brewers saw some action both behind and at the plate when Jordan took on the Austin Greyhounds.

Chris Rooney rips a single in the 10th to help Jordan to an 8-6 victory at the Class B State Tourney in Jordan.